UBC Okanagan Aboriginal Advisory Committee


The Aboriginal Advisory Committee considers the current state of Aboriginal activities on UBC’s Okanagan campus, identifies priority areas of focus for the future, and helps implement strategies to advance these initiatives.

Current priorities for the Committee include development of a professional development program for Indigenous awareness and cultural sensitivity, establishment of an Aboriginal mentorship program for staff and faculty through an Indigenous Caucus, and Indigenous curriculum development.


  • Chair: Ian Cull, Associate Vice-President Students
  • Co-Chair: Ian Foulds, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering
  • Jeannette Armstrong, Assistant Professor, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
  • Deborah Buszard, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal
  • Stephen Foster, Professor, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies
  • Donna Kurtz, Associate Professor, Faculty of Health and Social Development
  • Sheryl Lightfoot, Senior Advisor to the UBC President on Indigenous Affairs
  • Ananya Mukherjee-Reed, Provost and Vice-Principal Academic (as of November 1, 2018)
  • Lisa Renoud, graduate student
  • Barbara Rutherford, Dean pro tem, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
  • Nicole Udzenija, Director, Strategic Initiatives
  • Adrienne Vedan, Director, Aboriginal Programs and Services
  • Sandra Young, graduate student
  • Cara Kirkey, Project and Management Assistant (administrative support)