Search for the next Dean of the Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences

The search for a new Dean in the Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences (IKBSAS) has commenced. Thank you to Dr. Barbara Rutherford, who is currently acting as Interim Dean until the search for a permanent Dean is completed.


Initial consultations were held with IKBSAS leadership in August 2018, and a forum open to all was held on September 25, 2018. The open forum allowed all interested parties to bring forward their perspectives on the School and suggest key attributes for the next Dean.


The recommendation for a candidate for the Dean position will be decided by the IKBSAS Dean search committee, with recommendation to the President. The committee’s role is outlined in UBC’s Joint Senate and Board Policy (Board of Governors Policy #21). Brent Cameron, with Boyden Canada, an executive search firm, will assist with the search.


Committee membership

Thank you to the membership of the search advisory committee:



Deborah Buszard, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Principal


Senate Nominated Faculty:

Michael Deyholos, Department Head, Biology

Susan Frohlick, Department Head, Community, Culture and Global Studies

Deanna Gibson, Associate Head, Research and Planning, Biology

Catherine Higgs, Department Head, History and Sociology


Senate nominated Students:

Makenna Jensen, Undergraduate Student

Carmela White, Graduate Student, Psychology


President Appointed Members:

Heather Berringer, Chief Librarian, UBC Okanagan

Ananya Mukherjee-Reed, Provost and Vice-Principal Academic (as of November 1, 2018)

Rehan Sadiq, Associate Dean, School of Engineering

Fiona Stirling, Finance Manager for Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences


Administrative support:

Cara Kirkey, Deputy Vice-Chancellor’s Office