Okanagan Campus Administration

The University of British Columbia is one great university with two great campuses -- one located in Vancouver and the other in Kelowna in the Okanagan Valley.

Senior leaders from throughout the UBC system report to UBC President and Vice-Chancellor Santa J. Ono. The senior administrator for the Okanagan campus is Deborah Buszard, whose role includes a system function as UBC Deputy Vice-Chancellor in addition to being Principal of the Okanagan campus.

We invite you to explore the following information and related websites to learn more about the senior leaders at the Okanagan campus.

Senior Administrators

Name Title

Professor Santa J. Ono

Santa Ono

President & Vice-Chancellor

The role of the President is to provide oversight and direction for the operation of the University, in accordance with the strategic framework and directions of our governing bodies, the Board of Governors and the Senates.

Members of the President’s Executive group include:

Professor Deborah Buszard

Deborah Buszard, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Principal

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal

The UBC Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Principal of the Okanagan campus provides overall leadership for the Okanagan campus and is a member of the UBC system executive leadership team.

Key internal functions include:

  • Ensuring an effective organizational structure that reflects campus operational needs;
  • Leading strategic planning based on the imperatives outlined in campus and system vision documents;
  • Ensuring strategic allocation and stewardship of resources for a sustainable financial plan.

The DVC and Principal works externally to foster effective relationships for the campus and the University at the local, national and international levels.

Dr. Cynthia Mathieson

Cynthia Mathieson

Provost and Vice-Principal Academic


The Provost and Vice-Principal Academic of the Okanagan campus is responsible for providing leadership and direction in the areas of planning, policy development and resource management in meeting the University's strategic goals.

The Provost provides leadership to each of the Faculties on all academic matters, including program development, teaching effectiveness and academic infrastructure. Also reporting to the Provost are the Centre for Teaching and Learning, Okanagan Planning and Institutional Development, the Library, the International Student Initiative, and Enrolment Services.  

Dr. Philip Barker

Phil Barker 

Associate Vice-President Research & Vice-Principal Research

The Vice-Principal Research is responsible for providing leadership and direction on all research matters on the Okanagan campus. 

The Vice-Principal Research works to deepen the research and innovation culture and build the structure and relationships to increase research and innovation capacity, as well as advocate for the University’s research and innovation mission, both inside and outside the University. Included in the responsibilities for this role are oversight of the University Industry Liaison Office, the Office of Research Services and the research institutes at the Okanagan campus.

*Dr. Barker serves in the dual role of AVP Research for the UBC system and Vice-Principal Research for the Okanagan campus. As AVP, Dr. Barker has responsibility for Innovation across the UBC system.

Mr. Ian Cull

Ian Cull

Associate Vice-President Students

The Student Affairs portfolio includes the following areas: Student Recruitment and Advising, Student Development and Advising, Aboriginal Student Programs and Services, Health and Wellness, and Athletics and Recreation.

The Student Affairs portfolio creates programs and student opportunities that improve student success, facilitate program connections between students and their academic units, and build institutional affinity.

Mr. Rob Einarson

Ian Cull

Associate Vice-President Finance and Operations

The Associate Vice-President Finance and Operations provides leadership in financial and operational areas of the Okanagan campus, and is a key member of the University’s financial team. This diverse portfolio includes:

Okanagan Campus Deans

Dr. Rehan Sadiq Associate Dean, School of Engineering
Dr. Wisdom Tettey Dean, Irving K. Barber School of Arts and Sciences
Dr. Robert Eggleston Dean pro tem, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies
Dr. Blye Frank Dean pro tem, Faculty of Education
Dr. Gordon Binsted
Dean, Faculty of Health and Social Development
Dr. Roger Sugden Dean, Faculty of Management
Dr. Miriam Grant Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Dr. Allan Jones Regional Associate Dean, Interior, Faculty of Medicine

Last reviewed shim1/27/2017 12:40:11 PM